My wife’s message is one worthy of every seder table this year. Yes, one of the hardest discussions we can have, but if we talk about Mitzrayim / Egypt and are serious about it… then we ought to do whatever we can to bring ourselves (and others!) out of whatever Mitzrayim they are in.

Reflecting Out Loud

Whoever saves one life, it is as if he has saved the whole world. (Talmud)

Soon, Passover will be here. It is usually one of my favorite holidays. I love the ritual of preparing the house, the smell of the food and the joyous atmosphere at the Seder table.

But this year is different. Passover will begin only three days after the one year anniversary of my father’s suicide.

My father was trapped in his own Egypt. The Hebrew word for Egypt, Mitzrayim, is defined as “narrow places or straits.” And that is where my father found himself.  At 72 years old, he was in the midst of a deep depression coupled with overwhelming anxiety. Those illnesses of the mind left him feeling shackled, unable to see a way out of the suffering and the pain. And on April 20, 2015 he took his own life.

And here I…

View original post 588 more words

